The Steering Committee

The LA County African American Infant and Maternal Mortality Steering Committee guides the implementation of the LA County Department of Public Health’s 5-Year Action Plan to address African American Infant and Maternal Mortality as well as informs the development and implementation of strategies to complement the plan. This group also comes together to advance advocacy, awareness and policy change.

Steering Committee Organizations include:

 California Black Women's Health Project

 Department of Public Health

 First 5 LA

 Antelope Valley Partners for Health

 Black Women for Wellness

 Charles Drew University of Medicine and Science

 Children’s Bureau

 Department of Health Services

 Department of Mental Health

 Essential Access Health

 First 5 LA

 Healthy African American Families

 iDream for Racial Health Equity

 Kaiser Permanente

 LA Partnership for Early Childhood Investment

 Long Beach Department of Health and Human Services

 March of Dimes

 PHFE WIC/Cinnamoms